Dress Rehearsal

Dressed for the part now

With just over a week to go now, I had the chance today to get in a final practice walk of a decent length from Evington to Mountsorrel (about 12 miles I reckon including getting lost round the back streets of Rushey Mead, a detour into Birstall to find a loo and following the meandering of the Canal!)

The weather was fine and I left in good heart from St Denys with Geraldine, our Lay Reader.  There was a lot of pavement pounding to begin with but we found a route which exposed to me parts of the city I certainly hadn’t seen before!

 

Unfortunately, I had a hypo just before arriving at Watermead Country Park on the edge of the city.  Having done all the right things (halved my bolus with breakfast and put on a temporary basal), I’m not quite sure why that happened but I do know that the continuous sensor I will have on my arm for the real thing will help me to take preventative action sooner.

 

There were lots of beautiful moments but a couple of things from today’s walk really stand out for me:

  • First, the amazing provision of hospitality at the Catholic Church in Birstall.  We arrived desperate to find a loo and somewhere for Geraldine to treat her blisters.  Brenda at St Theresa’s welcomed us with open arms and gave us a cup of tea and some biscuits too (party rings – my favourites!)  She even had the right stuff to put on Geraldine’s blisters – literally a Godsend.

img_2948

  • The second was the fantastic welcome from the gang at Christ Church in Mountsorrel where I had planned to finish my walk during their Coffee/LunchDay4Andy.  I was deeply moved to see his church family rallying once again even after such a long time to show their support and love for him.  I was also very thankful for the delicious bacon sandwich and a proper mug of tea!  Thank you, lovely people!

 

So that’s it for the serious walking until I’m up on the Wall on the 25th.  But today has taught me once again about the wonders of God’s provision and I couldn’t help smiling as I found an extra spring in my step after passing this pub by the side of the canal … (and no, it wasn’t because I had popped in for a quick pint, this was 11am!)

‘We have this hope as an anchor for the soul firm and secure.’ (Hebrews 6.19)

Author: walk4andy

I am a (just!) 40 year old vicar in Leicester. My brother Andy Lees died in 2013 aged 38 just three months after my father. They both suffered from Von Hippel Lindau syndrome, a genetic form of cancer. This May I am walking Hadrian's Wall to raise money for VHL UK/Ireland.

1 thought on “Dress Rehearsal”

Leave a Reply

