On being 40 … and eating cake


The big day has been and gone and it wasn’t so bad after all! Actually, I had a really nice 40th which began with taking a communion service followed by cake, then coffee with a friend and more cake, singing with my 8ctave friends and more cake, before going out with the family and yes, you’ve guessed it, more cake!


There are those who would say diabetics shouldn’t be eating cake but I say with Marie-Antoinette (or not depending on your sources!), ‘qu’ils mangent de la brioche!’ or rather ‘let them eat cake!’ The great thing about my pump is that it allows me the flexibility to treat myself to a bit of cake on special occasions (or more than that to be honest!)

I did have a few poignant moments in the course of the day, not so much because I mourn for my passing youth (I was once told I was 25 going on 55 anyway!), more because it’s days like this that you miss most those you would normally want to see when celebrating a special occasion.

Grief took me unawares again as I was preaching in the morning. I was talking about the unexpected martyrdom of Stephen and the seeds of new life hidden in the story of his brutal murder (Acts 7). I went on to reflect on the surprises of my own life, not all of them good, and at that point I’m afraid I cracked. I would not have expected to be where I am today, nor would I have expected to be without my brother and father on my 40th birthday.

But there are always seeds of new life and hope being planted, and what could be better than spending my big day with the friends and family I love, not to mention wonderful Italian food and lots of cake?

Author: walk4andy

I am a (just!) 40 year old vicar in Leicester. My brother Andy Lees died in 2013 aged 38 just three months after my father. They both suffered from Von Hippel Lindau syndrome, a genetic form of cancer. This May I am walking Hadrian's Wall to raise money for VHL UK/Ireland.

1 thought on “On being 40 … and eating cake”

Leave a Reply

