One day

A lot can happen in one day.  A lot can happen in one moment.  A life can be changed forever.

With the people of Manchester uppermost in my thoughts and prayers today, I am conscious that I have just one day left to get myself sorted before I head up to Carlisle ready to begin the #walk4andy on Thursday.

It is three and a half years since the night he died.  This day has been a long time coming but somewhere in my wrestling with God and grief I found the resolve to do something positive, to be different because Andy lived and not because he died.

So today I am drawing up lists and packing bags, checking on hotel bookings and route maps.  I even went on a short 5 mile walk this morning with Rolo and a small group from church.

Unfortunately, we got stuck in a field with a large herd of cows and their calves.  I have rarely been so terrified, faced with an angry mother cow mooing and snorting just inches from my face.  Perhaps wrongly, I scooped up into my arms a cowering and whimpering Rolo  before he got trodden on or kicked and I stood my ground together with my companions.

Eventually, the herd thinned out and we could see our escape route become clear.  I walked cautiously towards the stile, still with Rolo in my arms, and breathed a mammoth sigh of relief when I got to the other side.

IMG_0240I pray that all those in Manchester and across the world who are facing one day they never thought would come will know the love of a God who longs to scoop them up and just hold them in his arms and never let them go.

 

Author: walk4andy

I am a (just!) 40 year old vicar in Leicester. My brother Andy Lees died in 2013 aged 38 just three months after my father. They both suffered from Von Hippel Lindau syndrome, a genetic form of cancer. This May I am walking Hadrian's Wall to raise money for VHL UK/Ireland.

1 thought on “One day”

Leave a Reply

