Health Update

One or two folk have been asking how I’m doing physically as I reach the middle of my walk4andy.

Well, I’m pleased to report that all is well.  My feet in particular are completely blister-free thanks to great boots and a lot of prayer!

On Day Three my legs were very stiff and I worried that I wouldn’t be able to manage the walk but that morning I received a text from a friend praying for healing and after about half an hour the stiffness wore off and I’ve been fine since.

The diabetes is not such a good story.  It’s been a bit like the terrain here in the middle part of the Wall – very up and down!  Although my Freestyle Libre scanner means I can check blood sugar levels very easily, it means I tend to respond too quickly I think and so it starts to ping pong.  Interestingly the problems have been worse after the day’s walking rather than during.

But if you are the praying kind, I would very much value prayer for better control over the last few days as the massive fluctuations can be exhausting.

The friend who texted sent me this verse from Habakkuk:

‘God, the Lord, is my strength, he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, and makes me tread upon the heights.’

I’m not quite a gazelle leaping gracefully along the Wall, but I do know that I am finding healing here as I walk and not just physically.  Thank you again for all your prayers and support.

Author: walk4andy

I am a (just!) 40 year old vicar in Leicester. My brother Andy Lees died in 2013 aged 38 just three months after my father. They both suffered from Von Hippel Lindau syndrome, a genetic form of cancer. This May I am walking Hadrian's Wall to raise money for VHL UK/Ireland.

1 thought on “Health Update”

  1. Praying about your blood sugar, and also that your journey will bring you closer to God.

    Happy to hear that you are finding healing. I have been praying that during this walk you will come to terms more with your great loss. I’m also happy to hear that your feet are OK – I prayed for that too.

    I wonder if you have come across this book?

    It’s by a wonderful private doctor who treated me for ME. I bought it because I like to follow what she writes, and it was cheap on Kindle (still is – £4.79). At the beginning she writes:

    “This book is largely about diabetes type 2. However, type 1 diabetes can be greatly improved by all the strategies that are also used to treat type 2 diabetes. If these treatments are put in place, even though insulin will always be needed, blood sugar control will be much improved, and insulin requirements substantially reduced. This, in turn, will reduce the risk of complications.”

    I don’t think her approach is mainstream, although it may well become so. (I have seen two of her ideas become more mainstream since I first met her around 25 years ago.) However, she is extremely bright (first class degree) and well-informed, and personally I respect her opinion.

    I had a problem with hypoglycaemia (pre-diabetic) and low blood pressure about 10 years ago, which was leading to dizziness and fainting, and she sorted it when my GP couldn’t.

    This is her website:

    http://www.drmyhill.co.uk/

    and her article on diabetes:

    http://drmyhill.co.uk/wiki/Diabetes_-_how_to_prevent_the_complications

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

